Hector Molina and the Office of the New Evangelization

speaker_hector_200.jpg

Hector Molina (the new director of the Office of the New Evangelization in St. Louis, an awesome new effort by Arch. Burke) gave his energetic challenge to become evangelists, all of us. Check this out:

The disciple of Christ must not only keep the faith and live on it, but also profess it, confidently bear witness to it, and spread it: “All however must be prepared to confess Christ before men and to follow him along the way of the Cross, amidst the persecutions which the Church never lacks.”Service of and witness to the faith are necessary for salvation: “So every one who acknowledges me before men, I also will acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven; but whoever denies me before men, I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven.”

Where do you think this comes from? Probably a surprise answer: this is from the Catechism of the Catholic Church! (paragraph 1816). The reality is that this is only a surprise because so few Catholics actually live it … our bad. My bad.

Actually, this leads to the best joke of the morning –

Q. What happens when you cross a Jehovah’s Witness with a Catholic?

A. Someone who knocks on your door and has nothing to say.

But this is changing, and entirely by the grace of God will continue to change.

One final thought – the greek word for power is dunamas, where we get the word dynamite from. We are called to live dunamas power … allowing God to fundamentally change the world. And it’s happening!

Hector Molina and the Office of the New Evangelization

7 thoughts on “Hector Molina and the Office of the New Evangelization

  1. Norma Zamora says:

    Senor Hector Molina,

    Mi nombre es Norma Zamora, yo conoci ahora al senor Brian Shelton en la libreria del Forest park community college y el me recomendo que usted podia ayudarme a encontrar un lugar desente para vivir. Somos mi hijo, mi esposo y en este momento viene otro bebe en camino, la razon por la que estoy pidiendo que porfavor me ayude es que la vivienda donde estamos viviendo esta en pesimas condiciones y aparte no conocemos casi a nadie aqui en st. louis. En este momento estoy estudiando, mi esposo es el unico que esta trabajando para sostener el hogar y con sacrificio me ayuda a pagar mis clases. Por favor Senor Hector ayudeme en realidad necesito ayuda para encontrar una vivienda mas desente para mi familia, tengo pruebas de que donde estamos viviendo no es muy adecuado para nosotros.

    Por favor si seria tan amable de darme la oportunidad de platicar con usted en persona, se lo agradesere siempre.

    Mi telefono es 314-337-7940

    Muchas gracias por su atencion.

  2. Phillip Bruno says:

    Hector,

    Since attending the first Men For Christ Conference I’ve been waiting to get geared up for the second one. I’m signed up to be a parish captain (Christ Prince of Peace, Manchester, Mo.). I told our preist that we are getting geared up for this years conference and I would be getting him more info when it becomes available.

    I called this morning and I was told you will have some flyers or pamplets, possibly available next week. I would love to get some so I’ll call next week to find out what I can get, etc….

    I also had a chance to hear you speak at the Pauline Bookstore this past year which was terrific. I’ll keep it short but I look forward to hopefully seeing you and helping build the numbers of men in attendance this year.

    God be with you always……Phil Bruno

  3. Dear Sr. Molina,

    It was wonderful to feel the Holy Spirit last night while you spoke at St. Elizabeth’s, Mother of John the Baptist. I sang in the choir and your speech brought me to tears (several instances).

    It was very refreshing to hear you tell everyone the message that we needed to hear so desparately. You used the beginning and the ending to the bible – telling of what God did with Noah in Genisis and what he allowed John to see in Revalations. It was blanketed with love and instruction! We are children of God and we must not hide, but we must go out into this world and share our talents and gifts, working together to strengthen each other with the love within that God’s grace has afforded us.

    You spoke in Tongue at the end and I interpreted it. I am teaching, that is my gift. Now I know that teaching is allowing me to reach others with God’s love.

    Thank you,

    Gail O.

  4. Tom Kinsella says:

    Hector,

    I was present when you addressed the Chicago AD Leadership/Evangelization gathering recently. Thank you for a wonderfully moving talk. I am seeking a recording video, etc) of the resentation. I know time caused you to give a shortened, but powerful call to action.

    Please let me know where I can find a copy and if you have not yet recorded this, you should. As a seasoned Toastmaster (CC/S & CL) I appreciate the hard work you put into your work.

    Blessings & Peace,

    Tom Kinsella
    Chicago
    773.725-1208

  5. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, wonderful site!

  6. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing
    this site. I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade
    content by you in the future as well. In fact, your
    creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own website
    now 😉

Leave a Reply

